Posted by: the3rdi | September 8, 2010

Book now for the Funny Women AwardsCharity Final

Monday 20th September in support of OBJECT

We’ve done it again! 24 heats around the UK, 350 new acts and now it’s down to the very last 12. The final of this year’s Funny Women Awards takes place on Monday 20th September at the Leicester Square Theatre, one of London’s leading comedy venues.

The show will be hosted by 2007 Funny Women Awards Winner, Andi Osho, now a major breakthrough act with a host of TV credits including the first series of Channel 4’s Tonightly, regular appearances on BBC2 panel show, Mock the Week, and the new Friday night show, Stand Up for The Week on Channel 4. Andi will guide 12 of the newest acts through their best five minutes in front of an impressive array of judges from all corners of the comedy industry. Plus a very special guest performance by 2009 winner, Miss London.

The 10 acts through to the final (so far) are: Jessica Fostekew, Sarah Hendrickx, Alison Thea-Skot, Helen Arney, Rachel Parris, Abigoliah Schamaun, Iona Dudley-Ward, Thankless Child (Liz Black & Freya Slipper), Gemma Whelan and Julia Clark.

Tickets: full price £18.00, or £16.50 if you are on this mailing list and receive our regular e-bulletins – quote ‘Funny’ to get your concessionary rate. BOOK NOWor call 0844 847 2475.

Leicester Square Theatre, 6 Leicester Place, WC2H 7BX.

Doors 7.00 p.m. for show 7.30 p.m.

We’ve selected OBJECT, an award-winning human rights organisation that addresses the challenging issues of the pornography and sex industries and their increasing normalisation, to benefit from the final of this year’s Funny Women Awards.

If you become a fully paid up member of OBJECT there is an even better discount for the final. JOIN HERE now and find out more.

Laugh Chance Saloon – The Roundhouse, Saturday 18th September

A further two finalists will be selected by the audience at our ‘Last Laugh Saloon’ play off on Saturday 18th September at the Turning Point Festival at the Roundhouse. Eight acts have been invited to compete again for the two remaining places in the final – see HEREfor more details.

The eight acts taking part are: Hayley Ellis, Jojo Georgiou, Sunna Jarman, Gemma Layton, Laura Lexx, Clare Lomas, Lindsay Sharman and Louisa Theobald.

This time around, it’s back to basics – no judges deciding who makes it through, just comedy’s one true jury: the audience. So join us at the Roundhouse and play your part in shaping comedic fate!

Excited? So are we. See HERE for more information about the Turning Point Festival, and to book tickets – £18 to include a whole range of shows including the Funny Women Awards ‘Laugh Chance Saloon’, which takes place from 6.00 to 7.00 p.m.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: